New York Is No Virgin

by Layah, Creative Director
__________________________________________________________________________________________

[stock image, Manhattan]

Here
Every crosswalk feels like Abbey Road
Every sight feels it’s already been seen
What’s left for me, here,
In a place that has already been?
Here
Everyone imagines his own spotlight
Everything too deeply rhythmic
Every moment indifferent, in truth
With or without me in it.
Here
Every bit of time passes with
Every second passing through
Every minute drowning in
Absolutely nothing new.
Now
Every time I think a thought
Say a word
or
Act an act spiced bland
This time, am I as I feel
I the script
of
Absolutely nothing I understand-
From 85th and Amsterdam.

Comments

  1. Humberto Rios says:

    so friggin good!!!!

  2. EstherGutkovsky says:

    You are my literary (and everything else) hero, Lay.

  3. Here I come to save the day! LOVE

Leave a Comment!

SOME THINGS ABOUT US

LANDFILLS is a grassroots literary, arts and culture online collective based in Chicago. All work is original, except the featured images that accompany text posts (which are blatantly stolen from tumblr.com). Complaints should be directed to Po via Twitter.
